Which certificates you need to sell or rent a home, town by town in New Jersey
Certificate of occupancy Hackensack NJ: resale and rental rules
Confirm with the Hackensack offices before you rely on this page. Hackensack requires a Continued Certificate of Occupancy from Building, Housing and Land Use for the sale or rental of a one- or two-family home ($100 for a one-family, $150 for a two-family, applied for online or in person by the owner) plus the Fire Prevention Bureau's smoke and carbon-monoxide certificate ($70, issued at the inspection, valid six months; a failed inspection or no-show means a new application and fee). Condominium sales get only the fire certificate. The fire form uploaded in January 2026 is still titled with the portable fire extinguisher and has an inspector line for it; the CCO instruction sheet carries no printed date and the CCO re-inspection fee is not stated. Sources on the town's own site: CCO Instructions - One or Two Family Homes (undated); CCO Checklist (file metadata: last saved 26 Mar 2025); CCO Instructions (undated). State rule for every sale or lease of a one- or two-family home: N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.3 (text). Last checked 24 October 2026.
| Question | Answer | The town's own words |
|---|---|---|
| Municipal certificate needed before a sale | Yes: Continued Certificate of Occupancy (CCO) from Building, Housing & Land Use (one- and two-family homes) plus Certificate of Smoke Alarm, Carbon Monoxide Alarm, Portable Fire Extinguisher Compliance from the Fire Prevention Bureau | The City of Hackensack requires a Continued Certificate of Occupancy for the sale and rental of certain residential units including, but not limited to, one or two-family homes. |
| Municipal certificate needed before a new tenant | Yes: Continued Certificate of Occupancy (CCO) also for rental of one- and two-family homes; Fire Prevention Bureau registration for non-owner-occupied two-family homes | Unregistered occupancies (including non-owner occupied 2 family homes) may be subject to court summons. |
| Smoke and CO alarm certificate (state rule N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.3) | Hackensack Fire Department Fire Prevention Bureau, 205 State Street, (201) 646-7685, fee $70.00 | There is a $70.00 fee which may be paid by credit card and/or check made out to the Hackensack |
| Fee: CCO - one-family home | $100.00 | One Family – Completed application accompanied by $100.00 (Check, Money Order or Credit |
| Fee: CCO - two-family home | $150.00 | Two Family – Completed application accompanied by $150.00 (Check, Money Order or Credit |
| Fee: Smoke/CO/extinguisher certificate (flat) | $70.00 | Fee $70.00 |
| Reinspection fee | Smoke/CO: a failed inspection or no-show requires a new application and a new $70 fee; CCO re-inspection fee not stated | INSPECTION FAILURE OR APPOINTMENT NO SHOW WILL REQUIRE AN ADDITIONAL APPLICATION AND FEE |
| How long the certificate stays valid | Smoke/CO certificate valid 6 months, issued at the time of inspection; CCO validity not stated | CERTIFICATES ARE VALID FOR 6 MONTHS |
| Who applies | Owner/Occupant/Agent signs the smoke form (buyer/renter and seller/landlord both named); CCO application by the owner via GovPilot or in person | Owner/Occupant/Agent |
| Last rule change on record | CCO instruction sheet revised (2023 version adds credit-card payment and online application; 2020 version required in-person pickup by appointment); CCO checklist last saved March 2025 | Note: Applications may only be obtained by visiting the B.H.L.U. Department by appointment only. |
| Online application | Yes: https://main.govpilot.com/web/public/03e88201-6d6_CCO-Application-hackensack?uid=6978&ust=NJ&pu=1&id=0 |